Use LinkedIn or an email


Forgot your password? Reset

Don't have account? Signup

Signup for free

Use LinkedIn or an email

By signing up you agree to the Terms & Conditions and Privacy & Policy

Reset password

Enter email to reset password

Already have account? Login
Don't have account? Signup

"Your CIBA designation gives you access to the world's leading professional body for accountants"

We signed an MOU with CIMA for mutual membership recognition.

The Agreement

CIBA and CIMA entered into an MOU to offer CIBA members access to step into the CIMA learning experience, allowing CIBA members to become Chartered Management Accountants (CMA). The CMA designation leads to a Certified Public Accountants (CPA) with the AICPA.

CIMA students at various levels of their CIMA studies can apply for an appropriate CIBA designation.

  • CIMA has granted exemptions available to different CIBA membership levels, based on a holistic review of entry requirements, competency frameworks and CPD.
  • Similarly, CIBA offer CIMA learners support and accreditation, through our designations.
  • CIMA levels match perfectly with CIBA’s exclusive designations.

Exemptions and Development

The MOU provides for various exemptions to enter CIBA or CIMA membership. In addition the institutes collaborate on providing practice management, business management, and technology courses, as well as specialist licenses to the CIBA community.

Go to www.saiba.academy to view the various courses.

The exemptions are paired together according to eligibility and levels as follows:

Certificate Levels

  • CIMA:
    • A CIMA student with completed certificate level exams will automatically qualify for a CIBA membership, and after two years of work can apply for the CIBA BA(SA) designation.

Operational Levels

  • CIBA:
    • BA(SA) + CIMA Operational Level: BA(SA) designation holders will begin at the operational level objective tests, leaving them with 12 exams requirement to obtain a CIMA qualification.
  • CIMA:
    • A CIMA student with completed operational level will automatically qualify for a BA(SA) designation, after an RPL has been completed.

Management Level

  • CIBA:
    • CBA(SA) or BAP(SA): CBA(SA) and BAP(SA) members will step into the management level case study, leaving them 8 exams to complete to obtain a CIMA qualification.
  • CIMA:
    • A CIMA student with completed management level will automatically qualify for a CBA(SA) designation, after an RPL has been completed.

Strategic Level

  • CIBA:
    • CFO(SA): CFO(SA) members will be entered onto the professional gateway route, CIMA Strategic level, leaving them with 4 exams to complete the exams to obtain a CIMA qualification.
  • CIMA:
    • A CIMA strategic level student, can apply for CIBA CFO(SA) designation, with added recognition, obtained from this partnership. Designation qualification is dependent on years’ experience and committee interviews.

How to apply

  • CIBA members joining CIMA:
    • CIBA members should login to their membership profile navigate to Rewards Partners, select CIMA and complete the application form.
  • Approved Training Centre (ATC):
  • CIMA students joining CIBA:
    • Click on the block to your right and start your application process. A membership consultant with review your application and apply the relevant exemptions.

Become a CIBA Member

Apply for your CIBA designation and claim your CIMA exemptions.

R1360 pa

Become a CIMA Member

Apply for your Chartered Designation and claim your CIBA exemptions